Business Directory


Village Information


Parks and Recreation

Bookmark and Share    

Police Department

The Police Department is responsible for crime prevention, patrol, investigations, traffic enforcement, evidence procurement, communications, records, training, youth programs, and community service. The department is responsible for a wide variety of duties including the 24-hour, 7-day protection of citizens. The department maintains routine records, accident and traffic reports, and controls recovered property and evidence seized at the scene of crimes. The department assists residents and businesses in developing crime prevention measures and offers outreach programs to inform the public of law enforcement activities.

The South Elgin Police Department currently employs 32 full-time sworn officers including three full-time detectives, one public service aid, a certified D.A.R.E. officer, and one officer assigned to community relations. The Police Department also operates a bicycle patrol unit, two school resource officers servicing Kenyon Woods Middle School and South Elgin High School, and one K-9 officer and dog named Itago.

South Elgin Police Department:
10 N. Water Street, South Elgin, IL 60177
Police Chief: Christopher Merritt
Deputy Chief: Jerry Krawczyk

Emergency: 911

For an emergency in South Elgin, but calling from another town: 847-888-2911
Non-Emergency: 847-741-2151



©2023 South Elgin Community Directory and its licensors.

Website Powered by Web Construction Set