Business Directory


Village Information


Parks and Recreation

Bookmark and Share    

Village Information

The Village of South Elgin was incorporated on April 20, 1897 and is a non-home rule municipality. The Village is governed by an elected president and six elected board of trustees. The Village consists of six departments: Administration, Community Development, Finance, Parks and Recreation, Police, and Public Works. The fire protection services are provided by the South Elgin and Countryside Fire Protection District which is a separate entity.


Village President
Steve Ward

John Sweet

Mike Kolodziej

Jennifer Barconi

  Village Clerk
Margo Gray

Lisa Guess

Scott G. Richmond

Robert B. Sauceda


Village Hall
10 North Water Street
South Elgin, IL 60177
Fax: 847-742-3253

Monday: 8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday–Friday: 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Saturday: 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 noon 

Web: www.southelgin.com
Code of Ordinances: www.amlegal.com/south_elgin_il


Monthly Meeting Schedule

Notices and agenda for all meetings and public hearings convened by the Village are posted in the Village Hall lobby. 

Village Board of Trustees
1st and 3rd Mondays of every month at Village Hall
Committee of the Whole Meeting: 7:00 p.m.
Regular Board Meeting: 8:00 p.m.

Planning & Zoning Commission
3rd Wednesday of every month at Village Hall 7:00 p.m.

Parks & Recreation Board
4th Monday of every month at Village Hall 7:00 p.m.



Village Departments and Services 

Department of Administration
Steven Super, Village Administrator
Megan Golden, Deputy Village Administrator
Mary Vandenboom, Assistant to the Administrator
Deborah Ramsey, Secretary
Phone: 847-742-5780
Fax: 847-742-3253 

Police Department
Christopher Merritt, Chief of Police
Jerry Krawczyk, Deputy Chief of Police
Phone: 847-741-2151
Fax: 847-888-0052
911 Emergency

South Elgin and Countryside Fire Protection District
Joseph Cluchey, Fire Chief
Phone: 847-741-2141
Fax: 847-741-2184
911 Emergency

Public Works
Richard Gallas, Director of Public Works
Dan Mann, Superintendent
Kevin Summers, Assistant Superintendent
Karen Vanderheyden, Administrative Assistant
Phone: 847-695-2742
Fax: 847-695-3497


Parks and Recreation
Kim Wascher, Director of Parks and Recreation
Phone: 847-622-0003
Fax: 847-622-0462

Department of Finance
Art Skibley, Finance Director
Mary Coffman, Assistant to the Director
Paula Glaspie, Human Resources
Sue Wright, Accounting Assistant-Accounts payable
Karen Erickson, Utility Billing
Phone: 847-742-5780
Fax: 847-742-6908

Community and Economic Development
Megan Golden, Deputy Village Administrator
Paul Kruse, Superintendent of Building & Code Enforcement
Marc McLaughlin, Community Development Coordinator
Phone: 847-741-3894
Fax: 847-741-3959




©2024 South Elgin Community Directory and its licensors.

Website Powered by Web Construction Set